Oct 20

MCC Players Star

There has been a lot of success for MCC bowlers over the past week … Firstly …

Ray Jansen, the most successful Victorian over 60’s State skip has done it again.  5 wins 1 draw 1 loss. Victoria finished second to the host State South Australia. Congratulations to Ray on a great effort.

Congratulations also to Tris Doolan who has been selected to play for Victoria in the upcoming Test match against Tasmania at Deer Park from December 6-8.

Final congratulations to Dan Mars & Ben Winther who took out top prize at the Numurkah Pairs event this week and to Gus MacIsaac and Tom Ristic who did a fantastic job getting 4th place. 78 teams were entered in that event.

And all of that after Fay Winther’s success last week in winning the Yarra Region Over 60s Singles Event.

Oct 18

Saturday Pennant – Glen Street MCC7 & MCC9

Following the decision to withdraw our 11th side from Saturday Pennant, it has been decided that a number of games which were originally scheduled to be played at Glen Street will be relocated to be played at Swinburne Avenue.  Seven games are affected and players in MCC7 & MCC9 in particular should take care to attend the correct venue.  The dates on which games will be played at Swinburne Ave are:

November 4th & 25th; December 2nd; January 13th & 27th; February 10th and March 3rd


Oct 18


Many of you will remember Jocie who looked after our Saturday Pennant bar and afternoon teas at Swinburne Ave. until last year. Jocie has been is very poor health recently and Natalie, our new Saturday steward, has organised a Get Well card for Jocie. It will be on the bar this Saturday. If you remember Jocie’s smiling face, please add your thoughts to the card on Saturday.

Oct 18

Resuscitation Refresher Course

A Resuscitation Refresher Course is being conducted for those interested members at the Swinburne Ave Clubrooms at 6.30pm on Thursday 26 October, 2017.

It would be great to see as many members at this refresher course and a big thank you to Peter Williams for organising the guest speaker.

Oct 18

Reminder for All Club Games

A reminder that participants in all Club Event need to wear their club uniform while playing their games. This was a policy that was introduced last season and is still in place for this season.

Oct 16

Weekly Update – 16th Oct 2017

Here is your Weekly Update on all things MCC Bowls:

We’ve just completed Round 2 of Saturday Pennant and Midweek will play Round 4 tomorrow … so with the bowls season underway a recap of some important information that has been posted up here over the last 2 weeks.

  • Congratulations to Fay Winther on winning the 2017/18 Yarra Region Over 60’s Women’s Singles!
  • We have released a quick guide on where to find information on sides, games and general contact information … CLICK HERE
  • We will be holding a Trivia Night for all our members and their family and friends … for more details CLICK HERE
  • The Club Singles Championship draws have been released for the Men’s and Ladies … the Minor Championship and Pairs draws will be released very soon … CLICK  HERE to stay up to date. UPDATE: Club Pairs and the Chairman’s Trophy Draws have been released NOWAlso a reminder to wear you club uniform for all Club Event games
  • Entries are still open for the Yarra Region Events … to see what events there are and their Closing Dates … CLICK HERE … DON’T FORGET the entry fee for these events is covered by the Bowls Section
  • We are also running a Resuscitation Refresher night on Thursday 26th October at 6.30pm in the Swinburne Avenue Club Rooms … to register you interest email secretary@mccbowls.org


Oct 13

2017-18 Members Handbooks available for collection

Envelopes containing a handbook and parking permit are addressed to each member and located at the clubrooms. I have endeavoured to sort the envelopes according to where individual members usually frequent so they can be found across each of the three locations. If your envelope is not at your usual location, please check at Swinburne Avenue clubroom.

As there are only a limited number of handbooks printed, please only take yours or those which another member has requested you to collect.

Oct 13

Updated Round 2 Sides

Sides for Round 2 have recently been updated this afternoon from 4pm.

Please also note that while the 9th Side received a walkover they will play an intraclub game out of Barkers Road as per normal pennant conditions. 

Older posts «